The Second Chakra

Second Chakra (Sacral) – Svadhisthana

Location: Lower Abdomen / Sacral Spine

Colour: Orange

Element: Water

Sense: Taste

Whilst the First Chakra is concerned with survival, the Second Chakra seeks pleasure and enjoyment. It is the centre of feeling, emotion, pleasure, sensuality, intimacy and connection. The energy of this chakra allows you to let go (“go with the flow”), to move and embrace change and transformation. The main challenge for the Second Chakra is social conditioning – we live in a society where, by and large, feelings are not valued, and where passion and emotional reactions are frowned upon. We are taught not to “lose control” and over time we become disconnected from our bodies and our feelings. This chakra is also damaged by our cultural attitudes towards sexuality – on the one hand sexuality is magnified and glorified (eg advertising) and on the other hand it is repressed and rejected. The Second Chakra is also the well-spring of your creativity, the raw creativity and passion artists draw from. If we consider ourselves as vehicles, then the First Chakra is the car itself, and the Second Chakra is the fuel – the passion that fires up the engine so that we can make our dreams happen.

Body Associations: Bladder, genitals, kidneys, large bowel, prostate, uterus

Key Words: Pleasure, creativity, desire, sexuality, change, self-respect, emotion, flow, fertility

Issues: Movement, sensation, emotions, sexuality, change, guilt, The Shadow, relationships (with others, with money etc), unconscious blocks and karma

Physical issues: Disorders of reproductive organs, spleen, & urinary system, menstrual difficulties, sexual dysfunction (eg impotence, frigidity), lower back or pelvic pain, knee problems, lack of flexibility, deadened senses, loss of appetite for life, hormone imbalances

Balanced characteristics: Graceful movements, ability to experience pleasure, empathy, generosity and a willingness to share, genuine intimacy, passion for life, mutually empowering relationships, ability to change, healthy boundaries, patience, sees abundance.

Deficient characteristics: Rigid body and attitudes, frigidity or fear of sex, poor social skills, denial of pleasure, excessive boundaries, fear of change, lack of desire, passion, excitement, shame of the body or sexuality, inadequacy

Excess characteristics: Sexual addiction, pleasure addiction, excessively strong emotions (hysteria, crisis junkies, mood swings), oversensitive, poor boundaries, seductive manipulation, emotional dependency, obsessive attachment, exhibitionism,

Possible addictions: Alcohol, sex, heroin

Essential Oils: Neroli, Sandalwood, Coriander, Cinnamon, Patchouli, Ylang Ylang

Gemstones: Amber, Carnelian, Tiger’s Eye, Moonstone, Garnet, Firestone Agate

Healing Practices: Be in or by water (preferably flowing water), drink plenty of water, express yourself creatively (singing, dancing, writing, cooking etc), eat flavoursome foods (especially spice), surround yourself with vibrant colours (especially orange), indulge in healthy pleasures, work with your “inner child”, emotional release or learning to contain the emotions (eg channelling anger), sexual healing, work through guilt (eg  self-acceptance or charitable work), movement therapy, orange foods (papaya, mango, oranges, carrots etc), keep a journal, alternate nostril breathing

Yoga Postures: Pelvic tilts, Sufi Grind, Frogs, Cat – Cow, Maha Mudra, Butterfly, pelvic lifts, Cobra, Pigeon Pose, lunges, Sun Salutations (helps us to move elegantly), back bends

Suggested Mantras: Har Haray Haree Wahe Guru (expression of creation – works through blocks and opens up our creative flow), Sat Narayan Wahe Guru, Hari Narayan Sat Nam (Narayan relates to water – this mantra allows you to relax and go with the flow of your life),

Meditation: Kirtan Kriya: Sit with your spine straight either on the floor in easy pose or on a chair, feet flat on the ground. Close your eyes and concentrate on the Third Eye point, the point where the bridge of the nose meets the space between the eyebrows. Chantt the mantra Saa Taa Naa Maa. On Saa, touch the index fingers of each hand to your thumbs, Taa, touch your middle fingers to your thumbs, Naa, touch your ring fingers to your thumbs, Maa, touch your little fingers to your thumbs. Chant for 2 minutes in your normal voice. Chant for the next 2 minutes in a whisper. Chant for the next 4 minutes silently. Then reverse the order, whispering for 2 minutes, and then out loud for 2 minutes (a total of 12 minutes). To come out of the mediation, inhale very deeply, stretch your hands above your head, and then bring them down slowly in a sweeping motion as you exhale. Kirtan Kriya can heal deep seated subconscious blocks and balance the emotions.

Sunia Antar Kriya Meditation for Emotional Balance: First drink a glass of water & then sit in a comfortable meditative pose, cross the arms over the chest and lock the open hands under the armpits. Bring your shoulders up to your ears (but don’t scrunch your neck), bring the chin in slightly, and close the eyes. Breath normally – your breath will automatically begin to become very slow. To start, practice for 3 minutes and build up to 11 minutes. This meditation is very useful when you are overwhelmed with emotion – after 2 to 3 minutes you will feel much calmer.

Affirmations: I allow myself to experience pleasure; I embrace my sexuality; I feel abundance, Emotions are the language of my Soul.

Second Chakra (Sacral) – Svadhisthana