Below are the answers to some questions we are often asked…

How does Kundalini Yoga Differ from other yoga?

Kundalini Yoga contains the elements of all forms of Yoga eg Hatha, Ashtanga, Raj. There are eight limbs to yoga – some of the other types of Yoga focus on only a few of the limbs such as posture and breathing. Kundalini Yoga contains all eight limbs and is considered the diamond of yoga.

Kundalini Yoga teachers do not make up exercises or sets of movements, but use prescribed sets of exercises (kriyas) which focus upon specific areas of the body. It is taught in its pure and complete form.

Do I have to wear white?

No. A lot of people practicing Kundalini Yoga wear white as white is considered the most reflective colour. It extends your aura, protecting the practitioner from negative energy and extending their presence. But wearing white is your choice, it is not a rule. You will get the benefits of Kundalini Yoga no matter what colour you wear.

What do I need to bring to class?

If possible bring a yoga mat – there will be a small number available at the class. Please bring a blanket to cover yourself during the relaxation. There will be blocks at the class if you have difficulty sitting cross legged on the floor – you can bring a cushion along for additional comfort. Please bring a sweatshirt, cardigan or shawl to wear during the meditation so that you stay warm. Water is recommended to keep you hydrated.

Is Kundalini Yoga suitable for beginners?

Yes. Kundalini Yoga is great for all levels of experience. Yoga is a personal experience and is not a competitive activity. Part of the experience is learning to listen to your own body and working to the best of your ability.

Who can practice Kundalini Yoga?

Kundalini Yoga is suitable for everyone. However, if you are suffering from any medical problem or are recovering for an illness or operation it is advisable to consult a doctor before taking up yoga. Please also inform the teacher before starting class.

What is Kundalini energy?

Kundalini energy is the energy of awareness; the energy of the Cosmos. The aim of Kundalini Yoga (and ultimately all yoga) is to awaken this energy that lies dormant at the base of the spine. When awoken, the practitioner experiences increased intuition, creative energy, clarity and many other benefits. Life becomes transformed; we live more in the present and feel spiritually connected.

What are Chakras?

Chakras are energy centres in the body. Each one corresponds to a different part of the body; starting at the base of the spine and moving up to the crown of the head. We spend a lot of time in Kundalini Yoga working on strengthening and balancing the chakras for optimal health and personal stability.

What is mantra and why do we chant?

Mantra is an important part of all Kundalini Yoga classes. It uses specific words and sounds to change consciousness and brain chemistry. All mantras have a meaning; most are expressions of unity with the Infinite. However, the effect of the mantra comes from more than just its meaning. Each specific sound causes the tongue to stimulate specific points in the mouth. These points trigger a response in the brain.
The use of mantra is a fun and uplifting experience, especially in a group. However students who are uncomfortable with the use of mantra do not have to chant and will benefit from just listening. Often beginners feel odd chanting and this can cause them to laugh! This is quite alright and is part of the process.

How often should I practice Kundalini Yoga?

For maximum benefit a yoga practice is best done daily. However, anything is better than nothing. Once or twice a week will provide noticeable results. Many people find that Kundalini Yoga makes them feel so good that they want to do more and more.

Is Kundalini Yoga a religion?

No. Kundalini Yoga is not a religion, nor is any other form of yoga. It is a set of techniques aimed at connecting you with your True self or soul.